Minister Doran recognizes Moot Court Participants

Minister Doran recognizes Moot Court Participants

Photo contributed. Photo contributed.

SINT MAARTEN (POND ISLAND) - Between January 26th and February 2nd, 2020, the 5th annual Moot Court competition took place in Gdynia, Poland, a press release from the Cabinet of the Minister of Justice said on Monday.

St. Maarten was powerfully represented by a delegation of five young persons in the competition and they skillfully placed third.

This placed St. Maarten just behind the USA, and South Africa.
In a special ceremony, the Minister of Justice, the Honorable Egbert J. Doran, gave recognition to the five participants namely; Naomi Jankee, Yvette Serrata Rosario, Srishti Rajani, Ignacio Becerra, Carson Gifford.

The Minister expressed his contentment, stating how happy he was to see St. Maarten youngsters attaining such an impressive accomplishment.

The Minister said in his speech that it is a good sign that our youth can achieve such great things; “When young people put their best into something, the sky becomes the limit”, he said. 

The Minister told the youngsters that they are good examples for other young people and wish them all the best in their future undertakings.  
The lead coach of the participants was Mr. Fehmi Kutluer who explained in detail the amount of time spent in the preparation and trainings for the competition.

The Minister thanked Mr. Kutluer and the other coaches, Ms. Nathalie Tackling, Emmely de Haan and Marit Wiersma, for their dedication in making the venture a successful reality.
The five youngsters were awarded tokens and a certificate of appreciation signed by Minister Doran.

back to top

Soualiga Radio